Ritual for the extinct

Since it’s been on my mind recently, and since the end of October/beginning of November is coming up (traditional time to remember the dead), I’ve decided to do a ritual the night of October 31st to remember species that have gone extinct due to human causes.

Since there are rather a lot, I’m not going to find and read a comprehensive list, but I am going to make sure the names I read represent a wide range of species (mammals, birds, plants, insects, fish, etc.) as well as every continent that has lost something.

I am opening this to requests as well.

If there is a particular living thing that has gone extinct in approximately the last couple hundred years, due to human activity (like hunting or habitat destruction), that you would like to be remembered during this ritual, let me know by 6 PM Pacific Standard Time this coming Thursday. Leave a comment here, Tumblr, Facebook, wherever. I have anonymous comments enabled on Tumblr.

I haven’t worked out all the details of the ritual yet, but I’ll post some sort of write-up after the fact.

About Fjothr Lokakvan

More or less Northern Tradition polytheist.
This entry was posted in Land and Land Spirits and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ritual for the extinct

  1. Jack says:

    I think I already told you how much I love this idea, but it’s a lot. I’m particularly fond of the passenger pigeon and would love to see it remembered.

  2. gracklelover says:

    Ivory-billed Woodpecker. It once lived in my area and went extinct due to deforestation. Also the Eskimo Curlew.

Comments are closed.