A bit more about my politics

I recently updated my About page, but I hate writing those things and so I omitted a lot of details.

I am a very white, cisgendered, currently able-bodied, queer woman. My political views have landed consistently in the lower left of the lower left quadrant of that “political compass” chart that’s gone around the internets repeatedly in the last 10 or so years.

My environmentalism, my notion of true sustainability, does not support the continuance of any system of oppression, power-over, dominance, or abuse, whether that is racism, anti-Semitism, misogyny, ableism, homophobia, transphobia, or anything else along those lines. Oh yeah, and capitalism, I’m not a fan of that, either. All of these specific methods of dominance work together to create one big complex system of oppression; to reach a better way of living with the living planet and with each other as humans, they must all be replaced with cooperative, mutually-supportive ways of interacting.

I don’t write much about political things here, other than environmentalism, because I spent many years reading feminist and various other left-leaning writing, and got burnt out – but that doesn’t mean I’ve changed my mind on any of those things.

I am a member of Heathens United Against Racism.

I have zero interest in associating with people who follow the Norse gods who claim that only people with European ancestry (the right kind of European ancestry) can and/or should worship Them.

You give all worshipers of the heathen gods a bad reputation.

If, for example, one of your beliefs is “diluting our blood by race mixing is unthinkable to us because to do so would be to sever the connection between us and our Divine Ones, our Ancestors,  and to destroy our own folk. It is the supreme act of ingratitude and a sin against the Gods and ourselves,” you are not welcome here (that is a quote from an Odinist site that just started following me and prompted this post; I will not link to it).

I will not support any of your racist beliefs, including your anti-Semitism.

If you are reading this blog because of the environmentally focused posts, but your notion of a sustainable future includes copious amounts of anti-Semitism or other forms of racism, then no matter how environmentally focused you are, you and I are not practicing the same religion, we do not have the same worldview, and I in no way want to be associated with you. Oppression of ANY kind, including racism, has no place in a truly sustainable, healthy world. This right here covers the basics well: The Future Must Be Green, Red, Black and Female

Comments defending racist or other oppressive beliefs will only be published if I can find amusing ways to edit them pre-publishing, if I choose to publish them at all.

About Fjothr Lokakvan

More or less Northern Tradition polytheist.
This entry was posted in Values and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A bit more about my politics

  1. bluehufsa says:

    In the past two years i’ve been excluded from a lot of heathen groups on facebook because of my nationality and because of Loki ,so i know what you mean by “people who follow the Norse gods who claim that only people with European ancestry (the right kind of European ancestry) can and/or should worship Them”

Comments are closed.