Film-related approxiversary

I have non-specific plans to go see the latest Marvel film in the theatre sometime soon, which has been serving as yet-another reminder of the passage of time.

It was 4 years ago this month that I went with my then-girlfriend to see “The Avengers,” a film I was ambivalent-to-annoyed about, but she was a comics fan, and I generally like action movies, so hey, why not. I don’t think either of us would have predicted the type of impact that would have on my life (or hers).

Part of my feelings about the movie – and keep in mind, I had next to no idea who any of the characters were, in the comics world – were driven by who the villain was. It annoyed me. I’d been annoyed by little threads of “Loki = evil” I’d been aware of since my teens, and here was yet-another. Puh-lease.

I also knew there was a lot of fevered enthusiasm for this character among fans of the movie, and I didn’t get the attraction, at all, and felt relieved when the film ended and I found I still felt 0 attraction for him.

But then online fandom hit, and hit hard, and one thing led to another and I found myself with the absolutely bizarre notion in my head that the actual Norse god might have some interest in me.

That still sounds totally ludicrous. I remember that happening, I remember what I did to deal with that (“deal,” ha), and the whole process still seems absolutely bizarre.

So, yes, in case you didn’t already know, I’m one of the Lokeans of the “Avengers” generation; my becoming a polytheist also prompted my girlfriend to get back into her religious practices more, and while I don’t know just how that affected what unfolded over the next several months, or in what specific ways her gods and mine were collaborating, our relationship ended as other relationships in our lives took major steps forward, and we both ended up making very long cross-continental moves (to different places) not long after.

It’s been kind of a strange four years, but that particular bit of it still strikes me as one of the strangest parts.

About Fjothr Lokakvan

More or less Northern Tradition polytheist.
This entry was posted in General Religious Stuff, Loki and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Film-related approxiversary

  1. G. B. Marian says:

    I totally believe that certain Gods have no qualms with reaching out to Their people through certain areas of Western pop culture. Lots of people never heard of Thelema before Ozzy Osbourne sang about Aleister Crowley, or of Wicca before the Buffy: The Vampire Slayer TV series, or of Loki before Marvel Comics. Do the people who create these things really mean to inspire Pagans? Surely not; but that doesn’t change the fact that certain people have certain magical reactions to these things, and the Gods will take advantage of this if and when it pleases Them to do so. For Duat’s sake, I was first introduced to the Netjeru by Boris Karloff and Sesame Street! So I take this idea pretty seriously myself, and I totally dig why the Marvel movies can speak to you in this way. I feel the same way about LOTS of movies!

  2. KitDuBhran says:

    Four years already? Wow. It’s my approxiversary too and I didn’t realise it had been so very long. 0.o

Comments are closed.